We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.


by Evan Shay

  • T-Shirt/Apparel + Digital Album

    Printed by InPrint in Montreal, QC.

    Includes unlimited streaming of NEW NORMAL via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 1 day

      $35 CAD or more 


  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $12 CAD  or more


BURN 02:41


New Normal is the first full-length solo record from Montreal-based saxophonist and producer, Evan Shay. Mostly composed and assembled during the intense months of the pandemic, the music journeys across many stylistic influences and the flurry of emotions that emerged throughout the turmoil. The driving forces of the record are the raw emotionality and uncertainty that follow a global catastrophe, and the fear and rage at witnessing the rise of fascism in the United States.

The album is also heavily influenced by the 1971 movie Vanishing Point; in particular, how the film explores themes of existentialism, commentary on societal roles, and finding your own sense of personal freedom. Accompanying each track are animations that feature the iconic white 1970 Dodge Challenger that takes Kowalski, the enigmatic counterculture antihero, on his escape route from life in society. With this music, Evan Shay is shedding light on the same questions that the film was asking 50 years ago.

Combining a nuanced blend of electronic music, hip-hop, ambient, and jazz, New Normal deviates from Shay's 2018 release Internal Combustion—a gritty fusion of guitar and metal-influenced compositions developed by his band, Lawful Citizen. In this debut as a solo artist, New Normal carries the same intensity, but employs a producer’s palette of sounds.

This project was made possible by funding from FACTOR and Emploi Quebec's Jeunes Volontaires program.


released October 30, 2020

Evan Shay- tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone, synths, production, sequencing
Chiquita Magic- vocals, additional synths (track 3)
HPRIZM- vocals (track 6, 9, 10), production
Lou Piensa- vocals (track 8)
Waahli- vocals (track 8)
Sarah Rossy- vocals (track 11, 12)
Scott Bevins- trumpet (track 7)
Jean-Michel Frederic (JMF)- keys (track 7)
Aaron Otheim- synths (track 11, 12)
CARRTOONS- electric bass, additional synth (track 7)
Mark Haynes- electric bass (track 8)
Kyle Hutchins- drums, percussion (track 1, 6, 7, 8)
John Hollenbeck- drums, percussion (track 4, 12)

Mixed by: HPRIZM (hprizm.bandcamp.com)
Mastered by: Jonathan Kaspy (www.kaspymastering.com)

Photography by: Bryan Wilkat (bryanwilkat.com)
Album Design by: Liz Michaud
Animations by: Liz Michaud

Special thanks to: Waahli for his Jeunes Volontaires mentorship, Nick Panaritis of Nick's Garage for his beautiful Dodge Challenger, HPRIZM, Vijay Iyer, Steve Lehman, Dr. MaD, Jonathan Kaspy, and Kiefer for their knowledge and guidance, my parents, my partner Liz Michaud, all the musicians for their contributions, and to the 2019 Banff International Workshop in Jazz & Creative Music faculty and students.


all rights reserved



Evan Shay Montréal, Québec

Saxophonist & producer based in Montreal, originally from Seattle.

contact / help

Contact Evan Shay

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Evan Shay, you may also like: